Home Life Still Goes On

So it has been just about a year since I became a full time sailor.

I’ve been very lucky during that time, I’ve gotten to experience working on several different vessels, with a whole variety of different people, doing all kinds of different things.

This is the first trip I’ve been on that something is going on at home that I can’t be there for, and I really want to be. It is incredibly frustrating. Not to be able to be with the people you want to be with, to comfort, help or do whatever needs doing. There is a whole range of emotions that you go through, worry being the strongest. And then remembering that whatever you’re feeling people on the other end are feeling it worse than you. Trying to convey these feelings through text and online messaging just isn’t the same.

In a sense I’ve been very fortunate that something like this has never happened to me before. But now I understand how difficult it is for people in the Forces, for people who live on other sides of the country, or the world,  from their loved ones.

As someone who does get to spend a month home at a time it is a real reminder to truly appreciate the time I do get at home, to take advantage of it so I can spend it with the people I love and care about, and be there for people when I have the opportunity to do so.

Leave a Reply

